You've got to be kidding...Board Members Criminal Liability

Get ready for next week. Two bad proposed laws are set to be heard on Monday and Tuesday.


Senate Bill (SB) 610 creates Criminal Felony exposure for Board Members - this Bad Bill is up for debate this Tuesday 4/2/19 in the Senate's Innovation, Industry, and Technology Committee. Board members arrested and criminally prosecuted for not responding in time to a records request. Does that sound reasonable or fair to you???

Vote NO to SB 610


If a Board Member does not respond to a records request within the time provided, the Board Member may be guilty of a 3rd Degree FELONY. Your association will then be hiring and paying for Criminal Defense lawyers. Absurd!!!


This proposed unreasonable Law would expose you, our volunteer board members to criminal prosecution. Perhaps, they ought to make the penalty stoning? This Bad Bill will ultimately lead to frivolous and expensive lawsuits.


Please email the below THIS weekend!

Dear Senator,

I urge you to OPPOSE SB 610. SB 610 mandates felonies to volunteer board members for insignificant mistakes and exposes non-profit community associations to frivolous and expensive lawsuits. Please OPPOSE SB 610 when it comes before the Criminal Justice Committee and protect Florida's community associations.

Lizbeth Benacquisto Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5027

Randolph Bracy bracy.randolph@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5011

Rob Bradley Bradley.Rob@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5005

Jeff Brandes brandes.jeff@flsenante.gov (850) 487-5024

Oscar Braynon, II Braynon.Oscar@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5035

Gary Farmer Farmer.Gary@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5034

Audrey Gibson Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5006

Travis Hutson Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5007

Kathleen Passidomo Passidomo.Kathleen@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5028

Wilton Simpson Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5010

THIS IS NOT AN APRIL FOOLS DAY JOKE!

Vote NO to HB 987

Monday, April 1 (No Joke) at Noon, your elected State Representatives on the House Government Operations and Technology Appropriations Subcommittee will hear House Bill (HB) 987, the companion bill to Senate Bill (SB) 824. This bill Denies communities your right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies existing, protective state rules related to the registration for illegal hotels.

Please copy and paste and send the following to the below state representatives:


Dear Representative,


I urge you to OPPOSE HB 987. HB 987 denies communities the right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies the existing, protective state rules related to the registration and data reporting for illegal hotels.


Please OPPOSE HB 987 when it comes before the Business & Professions Subcommittee and protect Florida's residential neighborhoods.

Jayer Williamson jayer.williamson@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5003

Michael Grant Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5075

John Cortes John.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5043

Alex Andrade Alex.Andrade@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5002

Bruce Antone Bruce.Antone@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5046

Melony Bell Melony.Bell@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5056

Kamia Brown Kamia.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5045

Kimberly Daniels Kimberly.Daniels@myfloridahouse.gov 850) 717-5014

Wyman Duggan Wyman.Duggan@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5015

Jason Fischer Jason.Fischer@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5016

Chip LaMarca Chip.LaMarca@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5093

Anthony Sabatini Anthony.Sabatini@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5032

Thank you again for your continued and overwhelming support. Together, we're making our neighborhoods have a seat at the law making table.

Yours in Community, Alan Garfinkel Community Association Network Chairman of the Board of Directors

www.CANLAWS.com 1-844-MYCANLAWS (692-2652)


Recent Posts
Archive