CAN ACTION ALERT: Vote NO to SB 610, SB 824 and HB 987!


We need your help TODAY before noon to email and call the below Senators and Representatives and urge them to vote NO to SB 610, SB 824 and HB 987. Together we CAN and must protect our community associations, your membership and the more than 100,000 volunteer Board members that serve as volunteers.


Vote NO to SB 610

If a Board Member does not respond to a records request within the time provided, the Board Member would be guilty of a 3rd Degree Felony. Your association will then be hiring and paying for Criminal Defense lawyers. Absurd!!!


Today at 1:30 pm, Senators on the Criminal Justice Committee will hear SB 610. This proposed Bad Law would expose you, our volunteer board members to criminal prosecution. Furthermore, this Bad Bill may further expose your membership to frivolous and expensive lawsuits.

Please email the below:

Dear Senator,

I urge you to OPPOSE SB 610. SB 610 mandates felonies to volunteer board members for insignificant mistakes and exposes non-profit community associations to frivolous and expensive lawsuits. Please OPPOSE SB 610 when it comes before the Criminal Justice Committee and protect Florida's community associations.

Randolph Bracy bracy.randolph@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5011


Jeff Brandes brandes.jeff@flsenante.gov (850) 487-5024

Anitere Flores flores.anitere@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5039

Jason Pizzo pizzo.jason@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5038

Keith Perry perry.keith@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5008

Vote NO to SB 824

Tomorrow, March 26 at 1:30 pm, Senators on the Innovation, Industry and Technology Committee will hear SB 824, also known as the "Private Property Rights of Homeowners" bill, the companion bill to HB 987. This bill denies communities the right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies the existing, protective state rules related to the registration and data reporting for illegal hotels.


Dear Senator,

I urge you to OPPOSE SB 824. SB 824 denies communities the right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies the existing, protective state rules related to the registration and data reporting for illegal hotels.

Please OPPOSE SB 824 when it comes before the Committee on Innovation, Industry & Technology and protect Florida's residential neighborhoods.

Lizbeth Benacquisto Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5027

Randolph Bracy Bracy.Randolph@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5011

Rob Bradley Bradley.Rob@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5005

Jeff Brandes Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5024

Oscar Braynon, II Braynon.Oscar@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5035 Gary Farmer Farmer.Gary@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5034

Audrey Gibson Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5006

Travis Hutson Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5007

Kathleen Passidomo Passidomo.Kathleen@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5028

Wilton Simpson Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov (850) 487-5010

Vote NO to HB 987


Tomorrow, March 26 at 12:00 pm, Representatives on the Business & Professions Subcommittee will hear HB 987, the companion bill to SB 824. This bill denies communities the right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies the existing, protective state rules related to the registration and data reporting for illegal hotels.


Dear Representative,

I urge you to OPPOSE HB 987. HB 987 denies communities the right to regulate short-term rentals and nullifies the existing, protective state rules related to the registration and data reporting for illegal hotels.

Please OPPOSE HB 987 when it comes before the Business & Professions Subcommittee and protect Florida's residential neighborhoods.

Heather Fitzenhagen Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5078

Amber Mariano Amber.Mariano@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5036

Newt Newton Newt.Newton@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5070

Ramon Alexander Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5008

Joseph Casello Joseph.Casello@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5090

Byron Donalds Byron.Donalds@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5080

Juan F. Barquin JuanF.Barquin@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5119

Randy Fine Randy.Fine@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5053

Mike Gottlieb Mike.Gottlieb@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5098

Brett Hage Brett.Hage@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5033

AnaMaria Rodriguez AnaMaria.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5105

Anthony Rodriguez Anthony.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5118

David Smith David.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5028 Josie Tomkow Josie.Tomkow@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5039

Matt Willhite Matt.Willhite@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5086

The Florida Legislature is only in session for 5 more weeks. Please help us help you.

Yours in Community, Alan Garfinkel Community Association Network Chairman of the Board of Directors

www.CANLAWS.com 1-844-MYCANLAWS (692-2652)


Recent Posts
Archive

© 2026 by Garfinkel Whynot, P.A.

300 N. Maitland Avenue

Maitland, FL 32751
Tel: 1-844-MYCANLAWS

info@canlaws.com

 

CONTACT CAN

© Community Association Network, Inc. 2017